Map of Idaho highlighting Elmore County

Elmore County has a total area of 3,101 square miles and includes portions of the Sawtooth National Forest and the Boise National Forest.  The 2002 US Census noted that Elmore County had a population of 29,130, with a population density of 10 people/sq. mile.

Elmore County was noted for its mining during Idaho's Gold Rush days, and has the Oregon Trail crossing through the county.

Like everywhere else in southwestern Idaho, Elmore County has been experiencing a declining trend in average and median sales prices for single-family residential properties.

Due to the travel requirements, Metro Appraisals covers Elmore County on a per-quote basis.

Elmore County includes the following towns/cities:


  • Mountain Home (county seat), population 12,236
  • Mountain Home Air Force Base, population 8,894
  • Glenns Ferry, population 1,408
  • Atlanta, population 325 (unincorporated)